Match to be replayed after ref makes net gaffe

Leagues

A referee in Italy’s sixth-tier was punished for taking his eye off the ball on Friday when a league match was ordered to be replayed because he failed to notice a penalty fly through a hole in the net.

A goal kick was ordered to be taken after the referee saw the ball emerge on the other side of the net following Vigolo Marchese player Pierluigi Arcari’s spot kick in a Promozione clash with Futuro Fornovo Medesano on Sunday.

– Insider Notebook: Rangnick’s Man United masterplan
Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN+ (U.S. only)
– Don’t have ESPN? Get instant access

Arcari was then sent off for protests and the 10-man side went on to lose 2-1, but video evidence that surfaced later clearly showed the ball had entered the goal and re-emerged through a gap in the net.

The sporting judge ordered a replay of the match after the red-faced referee admitted his error, but Arcari will still have to serve his three-match suspension after threatening the official.

Articles You May Like

Lukaku reps demand action after racist incident
Trossard vs. Mudryk: Arsenal’s ‘Plan B’ is an MVP while €100m man struggles
Red cards fly in feisty Everton, Tottenham draw
Why are PSG fans booing Messi and what has gone wrong?
How a group of local USWNT legends powered NWSL’s Bay Area venture

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *